Interstate Medical Licensure Compact states list and guide for 2023

February 14th, 2023 6 Min read

Last updated February 14, 2023 — Oklahoma has joined the compact.

The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC) makes the process for obtaining a medical license in 38 U.S. states and one territory simpler if you already hold your primary license in one of the participating states. The IMLC creates another pathway for licensure and does not otherwise change a state’s existing Medical Practice Act. The IMLC also adopts a uniform and stringent standard for licensure and affirms that the practice of medicine occurs where the patient is located at the time of the physician-patient encounter. Upon licensure via the IMLC, the physician will be under the jurisdiction of the medical board in the state where the patient is located.

US map icon

States currently accepting applications for expedited licensure

There are currently 38 states and one territory accepting applications for expedited licensure:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut*
  • Delaware*
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana*
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey*
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania*
  • Rhode Island*
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont*
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

*Connecticut and Vermont are not considered “States of Principle Licensure.” This means you cannot enter into the compact through a CT or VT license. However, you are able to get a license issued for these states through the compact once you have entered into the compact via another State of Principle Licensure.

Future state board participation:

The following states and districts have passed legislation to be part of the compact, but implementation has been delayed or is in progress. Questions regarding the current status and extent of these states’ and boards’ participation in the IMLC should be directed to the respective state boards:

  • District of Columbia
  • Indiana
  • New Jersey
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island

The following states have introduced legislation to join the compact:

  • Hawaii
  • Massachusetts
  • Missouri
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Virginia

IMLC quick facts

Average number of licenses obtained: 3

Medical licenses icons

Approval rate for applicants: 90%

90 percent icon

Average wait time for license: 19 days

Calendar icon

Percent of licenses available within a week: 51%

Medical license icon

Qualification for Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC)

To determine if you qualify to participate in this program, review the requirements on the IMLC’s Do I Qualify? page.

For more information about the compact, visit the IMLCC’s website at

Where to go for help

For more instructional videos on how the IMLC works, view the IMLC video playlist or click on the links below:

If you’re interested in assistance in obtaining licensure through the compact, please reach out to your CompHealth representative or call our licensing department at 800.328.3065.

Looking for a new job or your next locum tenens assignment? Check out our physician job openings, many of which are in IMLC member states.



Chad Saley

Chad Saley is a public relations manager at CHG Healthcare, the parent company of CompHealth.

See all articles from this author